Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross are the 14 steps which show the last day of Jesus’s life. The 14 steps are often called the ‘devotions’ or ‘stations’ and there purpose is to focus on a certain part of the day that is of importance to the event of Jesus last day. The stations of the cross in St Albans are stone carvings with labels inscriptions of the event. The stations are most commonly prayed during Lent on Wednesdays and Fridays, and especially on Good Friday, the day of the year upon which the events actually occurred.

The 14 Stations are as follows:

1.Jesus is condemned to death8.Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem
2.Jesus accepts the cross9.Jesus falls the third time
3.Jesus fall the first time10.Jesus is stripped of His garments
4.Jesus meets His Mother11.Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
5.Simon of Cyrene carries the cross12.Jesus dies on the cross
6.Veronica wipes the face of Jesus13.Jesus’ body is removed from the cross
7.Jesus falls the second time14.Jesus is placed in the tomb