The purpose of the Rosary is to help us pray and also helps us remember the wording of some of our most used prayers. The Rosary is made up of a string of about 60 beads (or knots), with each bead representing a particular prayer to be said.

The Rosary is also a sign of showing the 20 Mysteries surrounding Jesus. The mysteries are now place in to four groups of five Joyful, Luminous, Sorrowful and Glorious Mysteries. It is a tradition in the Church that you pray one of the four sets of mysteries of the Rosary, per day.  The traditional days are as follows:

Mondays and Saturdays: the Joyful Mysteries

Tuesday and Fridays: the Sorrowful Mysteries

Wednesdays and Sundays: the Glorious Mysteries

Thursdays: the Luminous Mysteries

  1. Make the Sign of the Cross and say the “Apostles’ Creed”
  2. Say the “Our Father”
  3. Say three “Hail Marys” for Faith, Hope, and Charity
  4. Say the “Glory Be”
  5. Announce the First Mystery and then say the “Our Father”
  6. Say ten “Hail Marys” while meditating on the Mystery
  7. Say the “Glory Be” (Optional: Say the “O My Jesus” prayer requested by Mary at Fatima)
  8. Announce the Next Mystery; then say the “Our Father” and repeat these steps (6 through 8) as you continue through the remaining Mysteries.
  9. Say the closing prayers: the “Hail Holy Queen” and “Final Prayer”
  10. Make the “Sign of the Cross”